Project team

Project team

The consortium management structure has been established to ensure efficient and effective management of all the operational, technical and financial aspects of the Spirou Project.

The governance structure consists of a Project Office and a Steering Committee.

Project office

The project office is composed by

  • the Principal Investigator, Jean – Francois Donati, IRAP, Toulouse, France
  • the Co – Principal Investigator, René Doyon, UdeM, Montréal, Canada
  • the Project Scientist, Xavier Delfosse, IPAG, Grenoble, France
  • the Co – Project Scientist, Etienne Artigau, UdeM, Montréal, Canada
  • the Observatory Scientist, Claire Moutou, CFHT, Hawaii
  • the Acceptance Support Scientist, Andres Carmona, IRAP, Toulouse, France
  • the Project Manager, Driss Kouach, IRAP, Toulouse, France
  • he Deputy Project Manager & Quality Assurance, Marielle Lacombe, IRAP, Toulouse, France
  • the System Engineer, Sébastien Baratchart, IRAP, Toulouse, France
  • the Interface and AIT manager, Nicolas Striebig, IRAP, Toulouse, France
  • and the Project Assistant, Christelle Feugeade, IRAP, Toulouse, France.

Each participating institute has a Local Project Manager (LPM) who report to the Project Manager for all activities related to the management of the project (schedule, budget, manpower, resources, etc…).

  • Patrick Rabou, IPAG, France
  • Laurent Parès, IRAP, France
  • François Dolon  , OHP-LAM, France
  • Gregory Barrick, CFHT, Hawaii
  • Vlad Reshetov, NRC Herzberg, Canada
  • Olivier Hernandez, UdeM, Canada
  • François Wildi ,OG, Switzerland
  • Eder Martioli, LNA, Brazil
  • S-Y. Wang, ASIAA, Taiwan

Project members

The list of all key personnel in the SPIRou project team is provided below.

This list includes in particular the main project management team (PI, coPI, PM, PS, coPS, SE, Local PMs / LPMs), the main managers of the various key instrument units and modules, as well as the main scientists in charge of the science group.

NameRoleTeamInstituteCountry – Town
DONATI Jean-François Principal Investigator Core, Spectro IRAP France, Toulouse
DOYON René Co-Principal Investigator Core, Spectro IRAP France Toulouse
DELFOSSE Xavier Project Scientist Core, Spectro IPAG France, Grenoble
ARTIGAU Etienne Co-Project Scientist Core, science UdeM Canada, Montréal
MOUTOU Claire Observatory Scientist Core, science CFHT Hawaii
KOUACH Driss Project Manager Core, Spectro IRAP France, Toulouse
LACOMBE Marielle Deputy Project Manager & Quality Assurance Core, Spectro IRAP France, Toulouse
BARATCHART Sébastien System Engineer Core, Spectro IRAP France, Toulouse
STRIEBIG Nicolas Interface & AITV Manager Spectro  IRAP France, Toulouse
FEUGEADE Christelle Project Assistant Core IRAP France, Toulouse
BARRICK Gregory Local Project Manager & Installation Core, Spectro, Cassgrain, Calibration, RV CFHT Hawaii
DOLON François Local Project Manager & Calibration module Core, calibration OHP-LAM France, Marseille
HERNANDEZ Olivier Local Project Manager Core, Spectro UdeM Canada, Montréal
MARTIOLI Eder Local Project Manager Core LNA Brazil
PARES Laurent Local Project Manager & Cassegrain optical design Core, Cassegrain IRAP France, Toulouse
RABOU Patrick Local Project Manager Core, Spectro IPAG France, Grenoble
RESHETOV Vlad Local Project Manager & Spectro mechanical part Core, Spectro NRC-H Canada
WANG Shiang-Yu Local Project Manager & Guiding camera Core, Cassegrain ASIAA Taiwan
WILDI François Local Project Manager & RV Reference Module RV  OG Switzerland, Genève
ALENCAR Sylvia Co-Investigator Science Science  UFMG Brazil
BARIL Marc Detector Spectro  CFHT Hawaii
BELOT MarcelMechanical workshopSpectro, CassegrainIRAP/OMPFrance, Toulouse
BOISSE Isabelle Co-Investigator Exoplanets Science  OHP-LAM France, Marseille
BONFILS Xavier Co-Investigator DRS Science, calibration  OG Switzerland, Genève
BOUCHY François DRS & Calibration module Core, science, Calibration OHP-LAM France, Marseille
BOUYE Marc Cassegrain Thermal structure Cassegrain  IRAP France, Toulouse
BOY JeremieDetector electronicsSpectroIRAPFrance, Toulouse
CASTILHO Bruno LNA Director Core  LNA Brazil
CHALLITA ZalphaSpectrograph module AIT/VSpectroOMP/IRAPFrance, Toulouse
CHAZELAS Bruno Radial Velocity module and fiber tests RV  OG Switzerland, Genève
CHEN Hsin-Yu Guiding camera simulation control Cassegrain  ASIAA Taiwan
COUDERC Patrick AITV Mechanical support Cassegrain  IRAP France, Toulouse
DESAULNIERS Pierre Optical part Spectro  UL Canada, Laval
DO NASCIMENTO José Dias Co-Investigator Science Science  UFRN Brazil
DUBOIS Bruno Cassegrain Mechanical design manager Cassegrain  IRAP France, Toulouse
DUNN Jennifer Control system Spectro  NRC-H Canada
DUPIEUX Michel Control – Command Cassegrain, spectro  IRAP France, Toulouse
FIGUEIRA Pedro Co-Investigator, Radial Velocity expert Core, RV CAUP Portugal
GALLOU Gérard Cassegrain Mechanical Design Cassegrain, spectro  IRAP France, Toulouse
HEBRARD Guillaume Co-Investigator Exoplanets Core, science IAP France, Paris
HENAULT François Spectrograph optics Spectro  IPAG France, Grenoble
HO Kevin Electronics Spectro, Cassegrain  CFHT Hawaii
HU Enos Electronics   ASIAA Taiwan
KLEIN BaptisteScience groupScienceIRAPFrance, Toulouse
LALOGE Andrée Local Project Assistant   OHP-LAM France, Marseille
LARRIEU Marie Control – Command Cassegrain  IRAP France, Toulouse
LOVIS Christophe Co-Investigator, Radial Velocity expert RV  OG Switzerland, Genève
MARTEL Robert Electronics Spectro  UdeM Canada, Montréal
MICHEAU Yoan Fiber link & Slicer Spectro  IRAP France, Toulouse
MOREAU François Control – Command Calibration  OHP-LAM France, Marseille
PAZDER John Integration support Spectro NRC-H Canada
PEPE Francesco Radial Velocity reférence module RV, Core OG Switzerland, Genève
PERRUCHOT Sandrine Calibration module: optical architecture and fibersCalibrationOHP-LAM France, Marseille
RABOU Patrick Spectrograph design Spectro IPAG France, Grenoble
SADDLEMEYER Leslie Cryomechanics and System Spectro NRC-H Canada
SOTILLE Rico Calibration module : mechanical design & machining CalibrationOHP-LAM France, Marseille
STADLER Eric Spectro opto-mechanical part Spectro IPAG France, Grenoble
THIBAULT Simon Spectro optical part Core, Spectro UL Canada, Laval
VALLEE Philippe Engineering and Science detector electronics and control ; Camera mechanical architecture Spectro UdeM Canada, Montréal
VALENTIN Hervé AITV optical support  CassegrainIRAP France, Toulouse
VERMEULEN Tom Control – Command  SpectroCFHT Hawaii
WEVERS Ivan Cryo-mechanical design  SpectroNRC-H Canada
YAN Chi-Hung Guiding camera mechanical design  CassegrainASIAA Taiwan

Steering Committee

The SPIRou Steering Committee (SSC) provides management and technical advices to CNRS about SPIRou, through the time of its delivery to CFHT.

CNRS appoints the SSC Chair for a 2 year term. The SSC includes six members that, like the Chair, are appointed for 2 year periods, which can be renewed indefinitely.

SSC members can be drawn from the community and/or represent stakeholders in the SPIRou project.

The role of SSC Chair rotates through other members of the SSC upon the end of the Chair’s term.

The Steering Committee is composed by :

  • Pierre Kern (chair), INSU, France
  • Jérôme Bouvier, IPAG, France
  • Mike Toplis, OMP, France
  • Doug Simons, CFHT, Hawaii
  • Greg Fahlman, NRC-H, Canada
  • Geneviève Tanguay, UdeM, Canada
  • Bruno Castillo, LNA, Brésil
  • Jorge Gameiro, CAUP, Portugal
  • Stéphane Udry, OG, Switzerland
  • Y-H. Chu, ASIAA, Taiwan


SPIRou Project Office

14, avenue Edouard Belin
31 400 Toulouse – France

Project manager:

Principal investigator: